Advisory Board

The Commonwealth Health Hub is a pilot initiative of the Commonwealth Secretariat and is guided by a small Advisory Board comprised of representatives from governments, as well as experts from health research institutions, organisations and the private sector.  Board members serve in an advisory capacity to the Hub.

Current Board Members:

Rt. Hon. Professor the Lord Kakkar (Chair) (House of Lords, UK)

  • Chairman, House of Lords Appointment Commission
  • Member, HM Privy Council
  • Member, Governing Board of Harris Manchester College, Oxford
  • Chair, UCL Partners
  • Professor of Surgery, University College London
  • Director, Thrombosis Research Institute
  • UK Business Ambassador for Healthcare and Life Sciences
  • Chair, Health Honours Comittee
  • Member, General Medical Council

Mr. Deodat Maharaj  (Commonwealth Secretariat)

  • Deputy Secretary General, Economic and Social Development

The Lord Crisp KCB (House of Lords, UK)

  • Merits of Statutory Instruments Committee
  • Chair, Sightsavers
  • Co-Chair, Zambia UK Health Workforce Alliance
  • Chief Executive, NHS (200-2006)
  • Permanent Secretary, Department of Health (2000-2006)

The Lord Marland (House of Lords, UK)

  • Chairman, Commonwealth Enterprise and Investment Council
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretawry (Department for Business, Innovation and Skills) (Intellectual Property) (2012-2013)
  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Energy and Climate Change) (2010-2012)

The Lord Patel KT (House of Lords, UK)

  • Council Member, Medical Research Council
  • Professor of Obstetrics & Consultant Obstetrician, Ninewells Hospital, University of Dundee (retired)
  • Chancellor, University of Dundee

Mr. Duncan Selbie (Public Health England)

  • Chief Executive, Public Health England